Entitlement

The Entitlement Generation. I don’t know if this is a real thing, but I work with a lot of people in the younger generation–and my brother is a high school teacher and teaches a lot of people in this generation. And while it’s probably a creation of the media, I see the effects almost every day: 

-People expecting to make more money right out of school and in an entry-level position.
-People expecting to get promoted quickly.
-People wanting to come in late…and leave early.
-People not wanting to take direction.

And I fear that I may be a part of that generation.

I want something for nothing. I want to be handed things just for being me. I want to be above average. I want to be treated specially.

I want my freaking ribbon!! 

And it makes me think about my weight-loss and entire journey to sanctification. About how I got here. How I used my quick success as an indicator of the future–and not realizing that it was just the start! That once I dropped weight, I would have to work even harder and devote even more time to maintaining.

Without that dedication, I just got lazy and let it creep back up. Maybe I thought that I was entitled to a healthy life. Maybe I thought that it would be as easy as winning a participation certificate at a 3rd Grade Science Fair.

But it’s not easy. Its freaking hard!  And I guess that’s the best part about the process: it’s teaching as much about my self and my issues as it is teaching me about my health!

I need to work my ass off. Literally!

Wednesday
35 minutes of Cardio at work
50 pushups
50 sit ups
Read the Bible daily
Pray daily
Calorie deficit: 737

Total
80 minutes of Cardio at work
60 minutes of exercise at home.
100 pushups
100 sit ups
Read the Bible daily
Pray daily
Average Calorie Deficit: 416

Remaining
70 minutes of Cardio at work
120 minutes of exercise at home.
Walk/jog/run 10 miles
50 pushups
50 sit ups
Read the Bible daily
Pray daily
Date with Anna
Average Calorie Deficit:700

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

