Confession: I Haven’t Been Attending Church Every Week

Anna and I are members at our church. We’re part of the welcome ministry.  We are New Member Sponsors.

And yet.

And yet, there are weeks that I don’t “make” it to church. Now, no, I don’t think that it’s necessary for someone to go to church in order to be saved.  And no, I don’t think that going to church every week would make me a “better” Christian.  And things do come up. 

But the problem is that things haven’t always “come up” each time I miss church–often, I’m just too tired to go (or, really, too lazy).  And it’s something that is important to me–both in terms of building community, and setting an example as a member of the ministries I’m involved in.  

I haven’t missed being part of the welcome ministry–we serve every-other week–but what about the other days?  Those days are important, too.  Showing up, making connections (especially in such a large community), and being available is quite necessary to me. 

So yeah, I confess.  I’ve also been lazy not only in my dietary life, but also in my spiritual life, too.  Just another thing to work on in the new year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Confession: I Haven’t Been Attending Church Every Week

  1. 45and304 says:

    All this awareness is a great thing Beej! Can’t wait to see your plans for 2012!

  2. Pingback: Kids And Church | Musings Of A Daddy

Leave a Reply

