Confession: I Am an Unconscious Eater

I know many of you are going to think, “Me too,” to this one–and I think it’s something a lot of people struggle with.  It probably has a great deal to do with this country’s obesity epidemic: we just don’t realize how much we’re eating.  And that’s true.

But me?  I generally know how many Calories are in a lot of the things I eat.  I can typically tell how large each serving is.  And I generally understand how many Calories I “should” eat.

So, I suppose that I should be ahead of the game.

There is a difference, however, in knowing how to act, and acting that way.  A huge difference.

I often think about what I’ve eaten–not about what I’m eating or what I’m about to eat.  It’s always after the fact.  And you’d think that any discretion would influence my next meal or snack.

You’d be wrong.

Typically , there’s no–and that’s the greatest problem.   I can eat poorly for a meal, and it’s no big deal.  I can eat poorly for a day, and I can get past it.  Eating poorly for a week or a month, though, makes it very difficult to maintain any weight loss, much less progress on my journey.

All too often–at least this year–I’ve let my trip become a stumble; and my stumble become a fall.

I’ve tried the food journal…I’ve tried Calorie counting–all  with varying degrees of success.  The main problem with those tools, though, is that you need to actually use them.  And I haven’t been that great at that.

But I’ve got to do better.  And I know I can.  I just have to do it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confession: I Am an Unconscious Eater

  1. 45and304 says:

    You have to find what works for you Beej! You did it before…and so did I. You will do it again, and so will I!

Leave a Reply

