The Next Day

Wow.  What a difference a day can make.  If yesterday was a pretty good success, then today was a dismal failure.  I didn’t get into the gym.  I didn’t go on a run.  And I indulged way too much.

My team at work and a team-building event today.  We had to leave about 2 hours early, so really, I didn’t feel like it would be a good idea to spend another hour in the gym. I know that I could have spent at least 15 or 20 minutes in there.  But I didn’t.

And we stopped by my dad’s house to see him after a minor surgery. The surgery went really well, but it was nice to check on him all the same.  And we didn’t get back home until later in the evening/night so i didn’t go on a run.

And I ate too much.  At a birthday breakfast for a co-worker.  At lunch. At the work event.  And at my dad’s house/at home.  I’m not sure exactly how much extra I ate, but I know it was a huge mistake.  And I probably sunk my weigh-in on Sunday.

But what’s done is done.  And when I feel like throwing in the towel and saying, “#%&@ it,” I know I’m in trouble.  At least realize that I won’t can’t give up.  And while it’s tempting to tell myself that I’ll start on Monday (and consequently toss out the rest of the week), I know that I can start righting myself tomorrow.  And I will.

Live and learn.  Stumble and get back up.  It’s all part of the process.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Next Day

  1. Kimberley says:

    Hope your day went well.
    Best wishes for a speedy recovery for your Dad!

Leave a Reply

