A 5k

I did my first run at home in a long time.  I’m not really sure how long it’s been, but I think it’s been about 2 months.  Now really, I have been running and walking, but the running has been on the loop at work and I’ve done a bit of walking…but no real at-home running.  I was tempted to run 6 miles, but I knew I wouldn’t be able to complete that distance in a way I would have been proud of.  But a 5k?  Yeah, I could complete that. 

And I did.

True, I didn’t run the whole distance–but I did for the first 1/2.  That’s 1.55 miles of running.  Not too bad.  And I ended up with an over all result of 3.13 miles in 30:09.  That’s a pace of 9:38.  Not a record setter, but a pretty respectable time, I’d say.  And I did hit a burst of 9.4 mph (I still can’t believe that people run full races at that speed!).  Here’s the chart of my pace and pulse.

Wednesday:
45 minutes of Cardio
Run 3 miles
50 sit ups
50 calf raises
1 60-second front plank
1 60-second side plank
Calorie Deficit: 745

Total:
120 minutes of Cardio
Run 6 Miles
50 push ups
100 sit ups
100 calf raises
1 60-second front plank
1 60-second side plank
Calorie Deficit:
– Monday: ??
– Tuesday: 895
– Wednesday: 745

Remaining:
30 minutes of Cardio
Run 4 Miles
250 push ups
200 sit ups
200 calf raises
300 jumping jacks
5 60-second front planks
5 60-second side planks
Fast
Date with Anna

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A 5k

  1. Julie says:

    YEAH!!!! That is excellent. How can you not say great? Heck today I did my personal best at a 5K and it was 37:37. I’m proud of me so you better be proud of you!!!!
    Keep it up Beej, you’re rocking it.
    Take care and God Bless!!!

  2. Great job Beej! I wish I could run a 5k. I was having so much fun becoming a “runner” before the stupid neuroma. I like your plan for 2011 too. Sounds sustainable and healthy. You are already cruising along, it seems.

  3. Twix says:

    First of all, WAY COOL! 😀

    could you please contact me, licktwix@gmail.com – thanks if you do

  4. Good for you Beej! What a way to start the year!

Leave a Reply

