The Results

Last week, I had my physical, and the results looked pretty good.  It was great to compare to my last physical.  I had dropped about 65 pounds in the last year, my pulse was down to the low 40’s & high 30’s, and my blood pressure was normal.

On Friday, though, I got my results.  They were also improved from my 2009 physical.

  • My Total Cholesterol did do up slightly to 200 mg/dL, but that’s still in the normal range.
  • My triglycerides went down from 120 mg/dL to 95 mg/dL–a drop of almost 25%!
  • And my HDL “good” Cholesterol went up from 31 mg/dL to 42 mg/dL–a gain of almost 33%.  My doctor said that I could improve those numbers with cardiovascular exercise.  Guess he was right!
  • My favorite part of my results was my CRP Cardiac Risk Assessment.  The range is 0.0 – 10.0 (mg/L).  Low risk is under 1.0 mg/L.  Average risk is 1.0-3.0 mg/L.  High risk is above 3.0 mg/L.  Mine? 0.3 mg/L! I think I need to find last year’s level, so that I can find where I was last year.

Here’s what my doctor had to say:

Your blood work is back and everything looks fine.  Your cholesterol is at the better than average mark and everything else is normal including liver, kidneys, and diabetes screening.

I’m really happy with my results, and I can’t wait until next year, to see where I am! 

When was the last time you had a physical? 

If you haven’t for a while, I’d encourage you to go! 

If you’re afraid of where you are, and you don’t want to be embarrassed or reprimanded or ridiculed–I’d still encourage you to go; even more highly than if it’s just been a while. 

Maybe it’s because you’re just starting on your journey–In that case, I’d be thrilled if you went: getting that base line is essential.  I wish I would have done that when I started.  

I guess the moral of the story is this: it’s important to know your health–no matter how good or bad it is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Results

  1. We should change the word cholesterol to cholesterLOL! in your name Beej, b/c you can now laugh in the face of heart disease.

  2. Wow Beej! I cannot express how happy I am for you! This is awesome!

  3. Amy says:

    Congrats. I love seeing numbers. Being a scientist, numbers are what makes the world what it is. 65 pound is great. I am on a slow train but still a train in the right direction.

  4. Julie says:

    I have been waiting to read these result. I am so proud of you Beej. YEAH!!! Really am proud.
    You are so right too. I put off my physical until I was part way into my life style change because I was afraid of what my doctor would say about me being 225. I know what he would of said but I would also know now just how far I’ve come. I have a physical in April, that will be 9 months since the camp physical I had. This one will be a complete one with all the bells and whisles. I am hoping I turn that doctors head.
    Take care and keep up the great work. I’ll be back to check up on you. Have a great afternoon and God Bless!!

  5. phil says:

    I do wish that i had gone for a full physical before starting to change my lifestyle just for the reason that you point out – it would be great to see how all those internal measurements of fitness have changed. I can measure waist, chest, weight, etc myself, but it would be good to have known what my resting heart rate, cholesterol, blood pressure, lung capacity, etc were before and again now. There would be a huge difference. I might think about going for a medical anyway. Good post beej, and congratulations on the results.

Leave a Reply

