Annual Physical

Today, I had my annual physical. Nothing too much to say yet, since I’m waiting for the results of my blood test.  My doctor really wanted to check my cholesterol again.  Just to see where things were.  Last year, my readings were okay.  My triglycerides were normal, my liver function was normal.  My bad cholesterol was right at the upper limit of okay–but my good cholesterol was way low–this threw off my cholesterol ratio, making it 6.  A good number is 4.9. 

But, I had not fasted before they drew my blood last time.  And I heard that you’re supposed to do that.  This time, when I was scheduling my appointment, I asked if I should fast before my physical.  I was told that it wasn’t necessary; that I probably wouldn’t have blood work done.  But, I decided to fast anyway.  And I’m glad I did, since we ended up doing a blood draw to see where I stand this year. 

And they took my BP and it was good.  And my temperature, and it was good.  But he was a little concerned about my pulse.  Why?  It was at 42 bpm.  He asked me if I had a low pulse.  I responded that, “Yes, I have a really low pulse.  In fact, the last time I tried to give blood, it was at 44, and they told me that at under 40, I couldn’t give blood.”

Just to be safe, though, he ran an EKG:

It came out normal (but I’ll get the full results later), but my heart rate had decreased to 38 bpm!  He just said that I have a strong heart.

I’m excited to get the full results, though.

Goals for this week:
Complete my weekly share of Hot 100 Goals
200 minutes cardio
20 miles walked/ran
300 sit ups
300 push ups
5 60-second front planks
5 60-second side planks
pray daily
read the bible daily
read my devotion daily
fast
date with Anna

Up to Monday:
45 minutes of cardio
100 sit ups
100 push ups
1 60-second front planks
1 60-second side planks
pray daily
read the bible daily
read my devotion daily
fast
date with Anna

Remaining:
Complete my weekly share of Hot 100 Goals
155 minutes cardio
20 miles walked/ran
200 sit ups
200 push ups
4 60-second front planks
4 60-second side planks
pray daily
read the bible daily
read my devotion daily

Calories:
Saturday: ?,???
Sunday: ?,???
Monday: 1,485 Calories

Daily Average: 2,628 Calories*

I’m estimating 3,200 Calories for Saturday and Sunday…just to be safe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Annual Physical

  1. A strong heart is a good thing! I am anxious to read how the results come out for the bloodwork.

Leave a Reply

