The next big thing!

Yeah, I know that I’m planning on a trail run in June.  And it’s not even here yet.  But for some reason, I have another goal that I’m really looking forward to!  What is it?  Well, I’ll get there.

My thought process went something like this:  Last Saturday, I ran 11 miles.  This Saturday, I’ll be running 12.5.  How long will that take?  Like 2 hours. 

That’s a long time. 

What’s next? A half-marathon?  Not sure.  It seems like so long to be running for 2+ hours.  Much less 4+ hours for a marathon.  I know it would be an accomplishment, but this is coming from someone who gets bored watching TV and has to be surfing the web or reading a magazine during most shows.  So yeah, marathon?  Probably not.  Half?  Yeah.  But that’s not my next big thing. 

I asked Jess what I should do, and she gave me some suggestions.  But I finally settled on this one.

Here are some clues:

0.5 miles

12 miles

3.1 miles

This is one the Best of its kind in the Pacific Northwest.

Registration started April 1st.

And it will take place on Sunday, July 18th…at 6:55am…at Seward Park in Seattle.

That’s right!  I’m registered for the 2010
 

I’m so excited!  I’ve never done anything like this, but there’s no turning back any more–I’ve already paid the money, so I’m doing it.  Any sugestions or tips?

Looking back at the 2009 results, the “slowest” of the males 30-34 category finished in 2 hours, 26 minutes, and 43 seconds.  My goal?  Beat that by at least 1 second.

2:26:42

Thursday:
30 minutes on exercise bike
15 minutes on stair stepper
50 situps
50 push ups
2 60 second front planks
2 30 second side planks; each side
4 miles walked/ran
prayed
read the bible
read my devotion

Total:
60 minutes on elliptical
60 minutes on exercise bike
60 minutes on stair stepper
250 situps
250 push ups
6 60 second front planks
6 30 second side planks; each side
7 miles walked/ran
prayed
read the bible
read my devotion
fast

Weekly Calorie Count:
Sunday: 2,185 Calories
Monday: 2,095 Calories
Tuesday: 2,230 Calories
Wednesday: 1,475 Calories
Thursday: 2,320 Calories
Friday:
Saturday:

Daily Average: 2,061 Calories.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The next big thing!

  1. This is an awesome project/goal Beej! I have nothing to offer as far as tips, but I am anxious to see how this all comes together.

  2. Kimberley says:

    Woohooooo!!! This will be so cool! My only tip is practice, practice, practice. Then it will just feel like a regular workout!

  3. Tara says:

    AWESOME!!I'm signing up for the one in September at Greenlake!Sorry Beej, girls only!

  4. beej says:

    Funny, Tara! I was all ready to join your tri…bummer!

Leave a Reply

