Vegan Quinoa Salad

Okay, here’s the recipe that I mentioned in my twEAT the other day.  We tried the recipe again and I love it.  Last time, we used feta cheese, but thought it might be fun to make this vegan, so no cheese.  And we don’t miss it!  Give it a try and let em know what you think of it!
Ingredients:
3 cups quinoa
2 cans low sodium garbanzo beans
1 english cucumber
2 bunches green onions
1/2 cup chopped dill
1 cup slivered almonds
1 cup dried cherries
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
1/2 cup lemon juice
Directions:
Cook quinoa as directed in package and cool.  Meanwhile, dice english cucumber and green onion; place in bowl.  dump and rinse garbanzo beans; place in bowl.  Chop fresh dill and place in bowl.  Place remaining ingredients (slivered almonds, dried cherries, salt, pepper, rice wine vinegar, and lemon juice) in bowl.  Stir all ingredients in bowl; then mix into quinoa.  Serve cold.
Nutritional Information:
Serving Size: 1 Cup
Calories: 235
Fat: 6.5g (10%)
Sodium: 273mg (11.4%)
Carbs: 37g (12.3%)
Fiber: 7g (28%)
Protein: 9g (18%)
Percentages based on 2,000 Calories diet
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vegan Quinoa Salad

  1. Looks tasty, I'll have to check it out, Vegan not sure I can get Ben on board, maybe I'll add the feta back in for him.

  2. beej says:

    I'd bet ground turkey would also bee tasty without adding too much sodium…

  3. Patsy says:

    This sounds lovely – thanks for sharing! I try to make vegan choices wherever I can, so will definitely be giving this a go!

  4. Em says:

    This looks incredible. Definitely going on my to-eat list for next week. Thanks so much for posting this!

  5. Kimberley says:

    I am sad to say I tried quinoa and didn't love it.I am willing to try it again though and this recipe looks great. Thanks Beej!

  6. Kat says:

    This looks great Beej. I have just started cooking with quinoa over the last couple of months. Love it.

Leave a Reply

